Posted by: travelrat | December 1, 2010

Where To Next?

It looks like the ‘streams’ on the Monday and Wednesday dishes both dried up at once. However, I still have plenty of ‘blogunition’ from our adventures in Queensland to continue the Friday entries until well into the New Year. Monday and Wednesday posts will revert, for the time being, into the usual random collection of thoughts, trivia, impressions and just about anything else that isn’t political or obscene.

Until we decide on going somewhere else. We can’t go anywhere till after Christmas, when we hand back the mutt we’ve been pooch-sitting. But, we’ve been discussing plans for next year, and beyond.

The other day, a brochure arrived, giving details of package tours based on Australia’s rail system. Uluru, Alice Springs, Katherine Gorge and a ride on the ‘Ghan’ have been on both our ‘bucket lists’ for a long time, so ‘Invasion of Australia 2012’ is being tentatively planned already.

Apart from that, the only things we have carved in stone are the André Rieu concert in London in April, and we’re meeting Garry and Joanne in July, when their ‘Round the World Cruise’ calls at Dover.

We are thinking of going away early next year. Our criteria are that it must be warm, and it must be inexpensive, or otherwise, we won’t be able to afford anything later in the year. Favourite so far is Sharm-el-Sheikh in Egypt; possibilities are the Algarve, the Canary Islands or Madeira. Goa was briefly considered, but we really didn’t want the hassle involved in getting a visa … I don’t think I’ve ever been required to ‘provide references’ for a visa, even a Russian one, before.

Oh, and there’s Vaughantown, of course! But, I’m waiting for payment for an article I wrote before I go firm on that.


Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    You are so lucky you are close to so many different Countries, that is the one thing I think Australia lacks. Yes it’s not called the “Land Down Under” for nothing, as we really are way down there. 🙂

    Everything you mentioned sounds exciting, and I’m sure not matter where you decide to go you will have a great time.
    I see you turned on the snow, I may turn mine on tomorrow, as I’m doing a bit of a Xmas post.

  2. I agree with Mags. I really miss the closeness of Europe down here. I was wondering if you’ve done much travelling in the U.S. Are you interested in travelling there?

  3. These things are relative, of course; it’s only a historical accident that Australia is one country … beore 1900, the states were, in effect. separate countries. Suppose the French, Spanish, Dutch and Portuguese had landed in different places at the same time as James Cook, and laid claim to their landing places? Might you then be ‘going abroad’ if you visited Adelaide or Melbourne?

    And, suppose Napoleon had won at Waterloo. Might we be now living in a sort of United States of Europe?

    (When I lived in Germany, we often drove into Holland or Belgium for our shopping, and there was very little sense of ‘going abroad’)

    About the US: although I’ve been there on military duty, I have no wish to go there now. Don’t get me wrong; it’s a great place, and most of the Americans I know are good people, but their ‘officialdom’ makes me feel about as welcome as a fart in a diving suit.

    Security is good, but, in the US, I think it’s verging on paranoia. It was easier to get into the old Soviet Republic!

  4. Hi Keith,
    What you say is correct of course, but even if each state of Australia was a different Country, we would still have to do the 20-26hr flight to see things like, Castles, Palaces, Ancient City’s, Ruins of lost kingdoms, and the list goes on.
    I wonder if we were different Countries here in OZ would the Counties still be known as “The Land Down Under”. 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories