Posted by: travelrat | July 23, 2014

Cumberland Pies

Pies 1

A question came up on a quiz show I was watching recently. ‘What is the main ingredient of a Cumberland Pie?’ I didn’t know; even though I am from that area, I’d never heard of it.

Meat, maybe? I guessed, and it turned out that was the correct answer. Exactly the same answer Doug Lansky got when he asked what went into an Australian meat pie.

I came upon the pie itself only a couple of weeks later, in the window of Higginson’s, in Grange over Sands. Even in the shop window, with its golden crust similar to that of a Melton Mowbray pork pie, it looked tempting. I had to have one.

Pies 2

The filling is the same delicious spiced pork sausage meat that goes into another local specialty, the Cumberland sausage. They dealt with the additional moisture required by adding a little tomato puree, then they top the mix with a little Cheddar cheese.

If I was given a choice of sausages to buy, I’d go for the Cumberland sausage every time, if it was on offer. So, this tasty ‘spin off’ takes its place along with the sausage high on my list of favourites.

Leave a Reply

Categories

