Posted by: travelrat | January 11, 2012

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary: Video

Brisbane: 26th August 2010

‘In this cage, ladies and gentlemen, we have the Oozlum Bird. When agitated, it flies around in ever-decreasing circles at ever-increasing velocity until it finally disappears … etc. etc.’

If you’ve waited a week to see the images of Barak, the platypus, here he is. That’s an advantage of video; any written description of a visit to a zoo or animal park tends, if you’re not very careful, to sound like a primary school kid’s essay on a visit to the zoo.

So, I shall say no more, and just invite you to sit back and enjoy.


Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    A great video, I had to smile when I saw the Kookaburra, we have a new baby kookaburra in our neighbourhood, and every morning he has a few words to say or I should say laughs. When I was growing up my Mum used to say to me the kookaburras are laughing again. 😀

    • Sorry I hit post before I was ready Duh!
      For anyone that is interested you can hear the sound of the Kookaburra here on one of our Government web sites.

      http://www.anbg.gov.au/sounds/

  2. Great to hear the didge. The koalas are sooooo cute. I’ve never actually seen a scrub turkey. They get right in there, don’t they? The emu was magnificent!

  3. […] when I wake up. What inspired me to do this kookaburra post was a post I read on another blog. Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary: Video, was a post Travelrat did, (check it out, he even has his own video on the sanctuary) this […]


Leave a comment

Categories