Posted by: travelrat | January 9, 2012

Well Done, Jack!

Photograph by Jack Hipkiss

As is usual when we have visitors … the girls went shopping! I was going to use the relatively quiet time to catch up on some reading and writing, but then came a request. Would I take Jack to Stonehenge?

Jack is my 16 year old grandson; he’s just got a new camera and is studying photography at school. I assumed the main ‘lesson’ here would be how to take good photos of the Stones without including too many tourists.

But, we got there in the late afternoon, having had to wait a short while for a heavy shower to pass through, and just happened to be in the right position as the sun was sinking behind the Stones, only a few days after the Winter Solstice.

I was going to post the picture I took in my ‘Pic of the Week’, but then, Jack sent me the best of his pictures, which I thought deserved a more permanent place in the blog.

So, here it it! Well done, Jack!

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    What a stunning photo, the sun coming down behind Stonehenge, and the bit of red showing in the sky, absolutely perfect for a backdrop for Stonehenge, it gives it a bit of a Mysterious look, very well done Jack.

  2. An excellent photo!

  3. I am blown away by this photo. The way the light falls renders Stonehenge almost otherworldly. Please give Jack a ‘High Five’ for me. Terrific shot!!

  4. Excellent pic! Go Jack! You obviously have a talented grandson, Keith.


Leave a Reply

Categories

