Posted by: travelrat | November 30, 2011

Kuranda Scenic Railway: Video

Cairns: 22nd August 2010.

In retrospect, I’m rather glad that, the previous day, I’d walked down the street to get some trackside video of the train as it passed on the Kuranda Scenic Railway. On that occasion, the train was only drawn by a single locomotive; the brightly-painted one used solely on that line. But, for some reason, they chose to ‘double-head’ our train … and the lead loco was a rather grimy diesel in standard Queensland Railways livery.

I don’t want to sound too geeky and obsessive about this, though; I must emphasise it took nothing from quality of the ride. A lot of the time, we couldn’t see the loco anyway.

It was easy enough to get pictures of ‘1751’, and cut the other loco out of it. But, so it doesn’t feel too left out, I’ll post this picture showing them both.

And, of course, the video! Enjoy the ride!


Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    A great video, so many lovely waterfalls along the way as well, at least there was water, lovely scenery. Enjoyed the ride. 🙂

  2. So as I’m going through all your posts from your Australia visit I have to ask: how long of a flight is it from the UK to down under? I thought it was bad enough from Los Angeles (somewhere around 17 hours).

    • Well, all flights to Australia stop somewhere to either refuel or change aircraft … it all depends how long this takes. 24 hours is a good ball-park figure. BUT we usually stop over for a couple of days in Singapore or Hong Kong on the way over.

  3. It really is a wonderful train. Love the sound of it and the look of it. Mags is right – the waterfalls are gorgeous. Such a scenic journey. I will have to do it sometime!


Leave a comment

Categories