Posted by: travelrat | November 18, 2010

Qype: Seaworld in Gold Coast

Gold CoastArts & EntertainmentAquariums

Seaworld is a mix of aquarium and theme park that just about gets it right … although some of the rides and attractions were closed for refurbishment, or, indeed, were in the process of being built.

But, there’s still an opportunity to see dolphins, rays and even sharks from close quarters; the sharks can be viewed from an underground viewing area. There’s quite a few seabirds … cormorants and pelicans … on show too. And, you can get from place to place … or from ride to ride … by means of a monorail.

I’m not entirely happy with seeing animals ‘perform’, and maybe the dolphin exhibition, the sea-lion show and the pirate show are maybe a little bit Disneyesque, but I’d think they need that kind of thing to get the punters in. But, the many children seemed to enjoy it and, hopefully, they’ll be informed as well as entertained.

Check out my review of Seaworld – I am nomadkeith – on Qype


Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    I haven’t visited Seaworld for a few years. No doubt a lot has changed since I was there.
    You are right, I think a lot of people go to see the shows, I think that’s the same with a lot of these places around the world.
    I also feel a lot of children really do learn something about the animals from these type of places, as I know that they talk about it for weeks after.

    • I’d say places like this need to be in constant change, both to ensure repeat visits & to keep up with the opposition.


Leave a comment

Categories