Posted by: travelrat | November 14, 2010

Living Like a Local

This post has been entered into the Granturismo/HomeAway Holiday Rentals travel blogging competition.

http://grantourismotravels.com/2010/11/10/grantourismo-travel-blogging-competition-november/

www.homeaway.co.uk

Meet a Local!

One of the easiest places to ‘live like a local’ is Australia. You don’t have to do it consciously, you just sort of absorb the way of life by a sort of osmosis. Or, at least I did. I’ve lived in Australia; my wife is Australian and we’ve visited often.

There aren’t any problems with the language for me, even the Australian version of the English language … expressions like ‘She’ll be right!’ or ‘Give it a go!’ have crept almost undetected into my vocabulary. I’ve even taken to referring to a carton of fruit juice as a ‘fruit box’.

I did think I’d be excluded because I don’t like pavlova, Vegemite or fritz … but neither do a lot of Australians. And, I do like pies, caramel tart, Cascade Premium (among many other brands) and Bundaberg ginger beer.

Usually, we stay with relatives, which helps greatly. We often see the sights with them, rather than joining organised tours. I rather liked the South Australian Tourist Commission’s line ‘We don’t have tourist attractions. We have places we go to that we like to share with our visitors’

I’ve reached the conclusion that, to ‘live like a local’, you must stop trying to live like a local. It’s something that can’t be taught … it just happens.


Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    Very well said, and I love the photo.
    I have heard similar from visitors from o/seas that come for a holiday in Australia, they also seem to pick up things that stay with them. Personally I have found they seem to like the word “Mate” it does come in handy if you have forgotten someones name. 🙂

  2. I couldn’t agree more. Australians are quite accepting of cultural differences and I have also found it quite easy to fit in. I also love using Aussie expressions like ‘She’ll be right’ and ‘No worries.’ It’s great fun.

    The photo is soooo good!

    • To tell the truth, when I lived in Oz in the early 60s, I found some older people rather xenophobic, but they were a very small minority. And, I haven’t come across any of that sort of thing on later visits.

  3. Nice post, Keith! It definitely starts to happen when you rent apartments/houses and stop staying in hotels. Thanks so much for your entry! Best of luck!

    • I think I can count the times we’ve stayed in hotels in Australia on my thumbs; usually, if we’re not staying with relatives, it’s either lodges or self-catering apartments.


Leave a comment

Categories