Posted by: travelrat | July 2, 2017

Sea Lions

PICT0006

When we visited Kangaroo Island in 2003, I was somewhat amused to go to Seal Bay, but find no seals. Because, despite the name, this is the haunt of the Australian Sea Lion … and they’re there in plenty. Maybe the bay’s original discoverers thought they were seals?

‘What is the difference, anyway?’ I asked. A ranger explained that the usual way to tell was that the sea-lion has external ear flaps; the seal doesn’t.

Another, perhaps more obvious way, I found when I consulted the ‘Gospel According to St. Google’ after our visit to Puerto Madryn. Since a sea-lion spends more time ashore than a seal does, it can rotate its hind flippers, to form rudimentary ‘legs’, and thus can walk on land, whereas a seal must slide on its belly.

Although we saw plenty of sea-lions at Puerto Madryn, the RIB didn’t approach them too closely; I think it’s forbidden to, by law. Some people in kayaks got much closer … but paddling a kayak all the way out to the point is really too much like hard work.

I zoomed in as much as I could, and, when I got home, zoomed in some more on the computer. I managed to produce some satisfactory, if not great results. The video, on the other hand, was absolute pants, and I junked it.

So, I got enough to produce a slide show, which I’ve bulked out with some of the pictures I took on Kangaroo Island in 2003.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

