Posted by: travelrat | April 11, 2017

Travel Theme: Colour

My daily walk sometimes takes me past a street of houses. They were built by the Ministry of Defence in the 1950s, and I’m not sure if they’re still owned by the MoD, or if they’ve been sold on. But, they’re all a uniform colour of ‘magnolia’ that the MoD was so fond of, and some of that paint is looking a little tired.

Now, I wonder if there’d be any objection if one of those householders decided to paint his house a different colour; either a soft pastel or a more bold colour. Would his neighbours follow suit? Or, would he have the ‘Planning Police’ around? I’d like to try it myself, but my house is bare brick, that looks great in sunshine.

A question I often ask myself is … are we so constrained by the hand of Officialdom in England, or do we just like things to be ‘sub. fusc.’? So, this week, I thought I’d take a look at some of the colourful houses I’ve seen on my travels.

Colour 1

Burano, Italy

Colour 2

Kinsale, Ireland

Colour 3

Portofino, Italy

Colour 4

La Boca, Buenos Aires

Colour 5

Portmeirion, Wales

This week’s contribution to the ‘Travel Theme’. More at https://wheresmybackpack.com/2017/04/10/travel-theme-colours/

Responses

  1. Great pictures. Love colourful building. Bristol has many.

    • Thank you! I must visit; I haven’t been to Bristol for ages!


Leave a Reply

Categories

