Posted by: travelrat | March 7, 2017

Christ the Redeemer

Christ the Redeemer, Rio

Rio de Janeiro: 27th January 2017

 Today’s tour was along the Promenade past Ipanema and Copacabana beaches before heading up Corcovado Mountain to see the gigantic Christ the Redeemer statue, which overlooks the city. You can see this from just about anywhere in Rio, but it has to be seen close up to be really appreciated.

It’s the work of several people, but one Heitor da Silva Costa is credited with the final design. It took nine years to build, being completed in 1931. It’s made from soapstone, which was imported from Sweden, and reinforced concrete. It stands 38 metres (125 feet) tall, and has been named as one of the Seven Man Made Wonders of the Modern World.

Corcovado Rack Railway

To get up close, you need to take a ride through the jungle … Rio claims to be the only city in the world with a jungle, and a National Park within its limits … on a rack and pinion railway, then take either an elevator or an escalator to the top of the mountain, where the gigantic statue stands. The railway, in fact, predates the statue, and was used to carry the materials for it up the mountain.

Only drawback was two cruise ships were in, so, almost literally, the world and his wife were there. And, would you believe, there’s free WiFi up there, so you can get those selfies online right away!

I did take my tablet, for I wanted to take a picture to put on Facebook, but the sun was so bright that I couldn’t see the screen, and all I got was a shot of Jesus’s feet. Thankfully, I had my ‘real’ camera with me and got some decent pictures; I just needed to wait till I get home before I posted them.

Rio from Corcovado

Leave a Reply

Categories

