Posted by: travelrat | November 20, 2016

Travel Theme: Snowy

snow-5

Snow. You love it or you hate it. Or, maybe both! I remember driving home in the teeth of a snowstorm, and the car radio started playing ‘Walking in a Winter Wonderland’. That really cracked me up; I thought that surely the guy that wrote that song has never tried driving in this s***!

(The main hazard, however, is the numpties who think watching a couple of episodes of Ice Road Truckers teaches them all the winter driving skills they need)

At least, I got home with the car the same shape as when I set off that morning, with the shiny side still up, and the dirty side down … and woke to find another foot of snow had fallen, and I was truly looking out on a ‘winter wonderland’.

snow-3

I immediately got dressed, grabbed my camera and went for a walk. Because, when all is said and done, snow is really good photographic stuff. Until it starts melting; then, it’s just miserable.

snow-1

We’ve even done two cruises to snowy climes; Norway in 2013 and Alaska this year. Yes, it is indeed picturesque … when you have warm clothing and a nice warm ship to go back to. However, all the photos I’m going to show you in this budget were taken in England … some within paces of my front door, because where I live, we rarely get any appreciable snow.

But, when we do …. !!!!

snow-4

 

This week’s contribution to the Travel Theme. See more at https://wheresmybackpack.com/2016/11/19/travel-theme-snowy/

Leave a Reply

Categories

