Posted by: travelrat | November 8, 2016

Return to Vancouver

hop-on-hop-off

Vancouver: 14th May 2016.

Our Alaska cruise came to an end back in Vancouver. But, it wasn’t the end of the trip; there was more to come. But first, a couple of days exploring Vancouver itself. I’m not the greatest fan of cities, but if I had to live in one, this is high on the list of the few I’d choose.

As I’ve said earlier, the best way for an introduction to somewhere unfamiliar is to take a hop on/hop off bus tour. In fact, we were able to book one before we left the ship. Now, as I understood it, we would be able to just walk across the street to join the tour, while our luggage would be taken to our hotel to await our eventual arrival.

Maybe I misunderstood, but it didn’t quite work like that. A minibus took us, and our luggage, to the Georgian Court hotel, where we checked in. No inconvenience at all; we just walked a couple of hundred yards to Georgia Street, where we were able to pick up the bus tour.

On the way, I was munching an apple, picked up from a bowl on the reception desk for residents to help themselves. A lovely gesture, and one of the best apples I’ve tasted for a long time. Can Canadians ever do anything wrong, I wondered?

The Hop on/hop off bus is just one of the ways to get around Vancouver. There’s an excellent public transit system, including trolley-buses, which I thought were really vehicles of yesteryear. The last one I saw was in Newcastle, in the early 1960s, but these looked modern and, I would imagine, fairly efficient.

vancouver-trolley-bus

Leave a Reply

Categories

