Posted by: travelrat | October 13, 2016

Fovant Badges Revisited.

fovant-1

If you can remember that far back, some years ago, I visited the Regimental Badges hill carvings at Fovant, Wiltshire. These were carved exactly 100 years ago, by soldiers in nearby camps, waiting to be sent to the trenches of France. To commemorate their centenary, another carving, a poppy, was recently added, and I wanted a photograph of this.

fovant-2

My first visit, all that time ago, didn’t produce very satisfactory results, and I thought one day. I’d return, make a series of pictures, and make a David Hockney-type ‘joiner’. That never happened, but I’ve gained some new technology since.

The GoPro, as some people will be aware, has a rather wide-angle lens, and I can take panoramic pictures with my tablet.

So, the pictures are an improvement on those I took earlier, but they’re still not exactly what I want. I visited in the morning, and was shooting into the sun. I think the badges would show up better with the afternoon light on them.

And, I must apologise to my Aussie friends; I did try to get an image of the AIF badge, but, try as I might, I could not find the right angle!

fovant-3

Leave a Reply

Categories

