Posted by: travelrat | October 6, 2016

The Siege of Wardour

pict0006

Old Wardour Castle: 15th July 2016

After I’d posted about our visit to Old Wardour Castle the other week, I was asked if I’d write a short article about it. I was a bit reluctant at first, for all I had in the way of pictures to illustrate it were shots of the castle taken from various angles, on a not very bright day.

Then I remembered, back in the 90s, I’d attended re-enactments by the Old Wardour Garrison of the two sieges in the Civil War … they used to deal with both sieges on alternate years. But, that was back in the day, and all the pictures, good as they were, were on slide.

I have a slide scanner, but it’s a laborious process, and doesn’t produce the best results.

Or, so I thought … the few I chose did turn out fairly satisfactorily. And, here they are.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

