Posted by: travelrat | October 2, 2016

Travel Theme: Sound

SP1

Whenever I travel anywhere, there’s usually a little audio recorder among my stuff. It doesn’t see a lot of use, because my video camera can capture a lot of the sounds I come across. Video footage has much more impact if you have a background of buskers, the calls of market traders, the song of the Call to Prayer from a mosque … the list is infinite.

But, there are a few occasions when the sound can stand on its own. I’m old enough to remember when we discussed what was on the radio last night, rather than television. And, I remember once doing some work with the television on in the next room. I got a good idea of what was going on from the sound alone, and we spent the next couple of days discussing whether that was good television or bad.

I also recall almost falling in love with a voice on the radio … only to see a photograph, and be disillusioned because she was old enough to be my mother, and had, to be kind, ‘a good face for radio’.

Earlier on, I made a few attempts at podcasting … you’ll find them if you scroll back far enough … but I wasn’t wholly satisfied with the results. You can’t just embed a sound file into your blog, like you can a video; you need to find a host, and put in a link to your waffling.

But, maybe things have changed in the meantime? Maybe I’ll do a little more research into it?

I sometimes compare audio with photography. Sometimes, colour is not necessary; the picture has much more impact in monochrome, and the emphasis is on the shape, the texture or just the message. Likewise, a sound can stand on its own, without the need of visual cues to interpret it.

I’d like to be able to incorporate some sound into this post; instead, I’ll just put up a couple of pictures of people making sounds!

Busker, Rundle Mall

This week’s contribution to the ‘Travel Theme’ See (and maybe hear) more at https://wheresmybackpack.com/2016/10/01/travel-theme-sound/

Responses

  1. Right! Sounds for us makes up the other half of the Sights and Sounds of all our journeys.


Leave a Reply

Categories

