Posted by: travelrat | February 1, 2016

Sorrento

Sorrento: 6th April 2015

I was a little bit disappointed with Sorrento. Maybe it was just the poor light and the haze, or it may have been that Portofino was a hard act to follow. Or, maybe it just didn’t tally with the mental picture I’ve had for years.

It’s about an hour’s drive from Naples … normally. But, this was Easter weekend, so it took a good deal longer. After you leave the autostrada, it’s a bit of a white-knuckle ride around the foothills of the mountains, but, for the last bit, a 5 km. long tunnel has recently been opened.

In the centre of the town, there are some lovely old buildings that just shout ‘Italy’, although, on this grey, cloudy day, they weren’t really seen at their best. Neither is the view over the Bay of Naples, which seems rather ordinary in these conditions.

Sorrento 1

Off the main Tasso Square are narrow streets, where high-class boutiques rub shoulders with souvenir shops, and places where they sell more everyday stuff. Like fruit; I couldn’t believe the size of those lemons. I thought at first they were grapefruit … but they’re even bigger than that.

Sorrento 2

Responses

  1. I haven’t been to this side of Italy. Will make a note of your observation and plan accordingly 🙂

    • A couple of people have told me I should stay longer, and explore further along the Amalfi coast. As it was, we cut it a bit fine getting back to the ship before it sailed. A longer visit is definitely called for.

      Best wishes,
      Keith

      • I hope you visit again soon, Keith.

  2. Man, I am surprised to hear that someone didn’t like Sorrento. At least Portofino was awesome.

    • Me, too. I think you just needed more time there. I take it you only had a day there? It’s never long enough in my opinion, that’s one of the reasons I don’t go cruising. I’ve tried it twice but felt I was being short-changed when it came to time on shore.

      • That is a bit of a disadvantage to cruising. However, I regard such stops as ‘samplers’; if I like the place, I can make a note to return at a later date … and if I don’t like it, I’m out of there in a few hours, and haven’t wasted my whole holiday.

        However, I did get the impression that Sorrento and the Amalfi coast are worthy of further exploration … preferably, *not* on a holiday weekend!

  3. I didn’t say I didn’t like it, just that it didn’t quite come up to expectations. We just picked a bad time to visit; because of the Easter crowds, we didn’t stay as long as we would have liked … and we just made it back to the ship.

    But, for limoncello, I’ll forgive them anything! 😀

    As the song says ‘Torna a Sorriento’

    Cordially,

    Keith


Leave a Reply

Categories

