Posted by: travelrat | December 29, 2015

Selfies

Ombriere

Normally, I’m not keen on the ‘selfie’. I’m wondering if there’s a certain class who doesn’t believe their friends have been anywhere unless they can show pictures of themselves posing by the Sphinx, or the Taj Mahal or whatever. But, I really like the whacky and unusual, so if the attached pictures can be classed as ‘selfies’, so be it.

If you go back far enough, you may remember the picture I took from the top of an open-topped bus in Sydney. It was purely unintentional, but, as well as the surrounding street, I caught my reflection in the bus windscreen. I was pleased with the effect; in fact, over the years, I shared it in quite a number of places. But, I won’t bore you with it now; I’ve got a couple I took only recently.

When we visited Marseille, my attention was caught by a structure on the quayside called the Ombrière. My French isn’t as good as it used to be, but I think it’s something to do with shade … and it does that, provide shade, admirably. But, the underside is also reflective, and many people were taking pictures of their reflection, and that’s an unusual and different angle.

I posted my results on Facebook, and someone commented that I should try doing similar on the ‘Mall’s Balls’ next time I visited Adelaide. So, that’s just what I did … for those who don’t know, it’s a sculpture in the Rundle Mall in Adelaide, consisting of two reflective spheres. It probably has an ‘official’ name, but most people just call it the ‘Mall’s Balls’.

So, here it is!

DCIM100GOPRO

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

