Posted by: travelrat | September 20, 2015

Travel Theme: Move

Ailsa’s theme this week is ‘Move’. Rather a difficult one, I thought; a difficult concept to capture on a still picture. If motion is involved, I usually reach for my video camera. So, I wonder if ‘Not Moving’ would fit the bill?

Anyone who has ever served in the military will probably be aware of the concept of ‘not moving’. Maybe you were a sniper on a hill, or just an ordinary troop on the parade ground, where the slightest movement would bring an outraged bellow of:

‘Mister Hoskins, Sir! Stop waving your bloody sword about, Sir!’

Now, there are a certain set of people who do it for fun … even get paid for it, if passers-by can be persuaded to throw a little largesse their way. These are the ‘living statues’, who paint themselves in a grey or bronze coloured mungus, and just stand stock-still, being living statues. Of course, they move occasionally; they have to, or otherwise people would just think they’re another statue, and who gives coins to a statue?

I think the first one I saw was in Antwerp … the poor guy was being yelled at by a lady who accused him of frightening her children by moving as they passed (at least that’s what I think she was saying; I don’t speak Dutch, but my German allowed me to get the gist of what she was saying!)

Living Statues

These two guys were doing their thing in Chengdu. Actually, they’d just fallen out for a smoke, but I was able to persuade them to pose for me when they’d finished their cigarettes … and after I’d put a donation into their tin.

For more ‘moving’ tales, visit Ailsa at ‘Where’s My Backpack?’  http://wheresmybackpack.com/2015/09/18/travel-theme-move/

Leave a Reply

Categories

