Posted by: travelrat | July 17, 2015

Shanghai Night Cruise

GA2 Shanghai by night

Shanghai: 22nd May 2014

I try to introduce as much variety as possible into my blog, so I feel I must apologise for posting two photos of night city skylines on the trot.

I nearly didn’t go on the Night Cruise on the Pudong River, for I didn’t feel very well. And, we’d done so many cruises on China’s waterways that missing one would be no hardship, surely?

But, I’m glad I did, for, in spite of competing with, it seemed, several thousand others for whom the concept of ‘form an orderly queue’ is completely alien, it’s an experience not to be missed.

It’s only a short cruise, but the light display makes even the Blackpool Illuminations pale into insignificance. Every building; every skyscraper seemed set on outdoing everyone else in the magnificence of its lights.

However, unfortunately, I didn’t take my GoPro, just the little Panasonic. And, the footage from that sort of disappeared in the transit to my new computer. I’ll post that if it ever turns up … but, in the meantime, I’ll have a slide show for you next week.

Regular readers may remember that, a couple of years ago, we were in Hong Kong, where the light display, although severely curtailed by the tail-end of a typhoon was still worth watching, photographing and filming. When the weather isn’t an issue, maybe it looks something like ‘Shanghai by Night’?

Leave a Reply

Categories

