Posted by: travelrat | September 9, 2014

On the Road Again

Forton Services

Near Lancaster: 15th August 2014.

I’ve said some pretty uncomplimentary things about motorway service areas in the past. They’re generally rather soulless places, and I tend only to use them if I absolutely have to. I usually fill up with fuel before reaching the motorway and I’d have to be really hungry before I’d eat there.

However, there are rare exceptions to this rule. I think that the quality of the food and service seems to improve the further north you go. I’ve already written about the super pies at Charnock Richard, near Preston, and the hot-pot at Burton in Kendal also deserves a mention.

I only stopped at the Lancaster (Forton) services because I needed the toilet … and to take some pictures. Usually, there’s not much to photograph in such places, but this one’s different, and rather special.

It’s the first one ever built on British motorways, and has a striking, futuristic style about it … well, it was futuristic, when it was built around 1960.

We used to call it ‘Spacefleet Headquarters’, because it was reminiscent of the buildings in the ‘Dan Dare: Pilot of the Future’ comic strip, which was popular among young lads of the time.

I did hear that there were moves afoot to make it a ‘Listed Building’; maybe it’s received that status already?

Leave a Reply

Categories

