Posted by: travelrat | August 13, 2014

Shooting the Moon

It’s getting to be almost a rule. Whenever anything happens in the skies, be it the Aurora Borealis or a comet or whatever … the skies in my vicinity are almost always covered by 8/8 cloud!

The last ‘event’ I actually saw was the solar eclipse of 1999. People flocked to Land’s End, the only place on the UK mainland where it would be total … to see nothing! In Wiltshire, we saw almost a total one, albeit through a veil of thin cloud.

Then, the other night, we had a ‘supermoon’. That’s when the moon is at perigee, or the closest point of its orbit to the earth. Then, it seems to be 14% bigger, and 30% brighter than at its apogee … another clever-sounding word, which means the furthest point of its orbit.

Moon 1

It’s not all that rare an occurrence, but the papers and social media were full of it … maybe because we’re in the so-called ‘silly season’?

I thought that, as usual, we were going to miss out on seeing it, for the day was dull and cloudy … but, about 2 a.m., I was awakened by the moonlight streaming through my bedroom window. I’d be exaggerating if I said I could read by it … but not much!

I didn’t read … instead, I went for my camera. The results, as you can see, weren’t very good. Certainly (I thought) not good enough to post on social media, or send to the papers or the TV station, as the world and his cousin seemed to be doing.

Moon 2

When I got up, although dawn had broken, the moon was still visible, although, again, the results weren’t completely satisfactory. But, (Fox-Talbot forgive me!) a little jiggery-pokery with photo editing software produced a slightly better result.

I’m not going anywhere for the moment, though; neither is the Moon. So, maybe, next time …??

Moon 2a

Leave a Reply

Categories

