Posted by: travelrat | July 28, 2014

Neolithic Houses: Slide Show

2014-04-16 11.49.17

The Neolithic Houses project at the Stonehenge Visitor Centre is now complete. Putting in a weekly volunteer shift at the Visitor Centre enabled me to take photos at various phases of their construction, and now it’s all complete, I’ve done my first shift within the houses also.

The aim is to show how people lived around the time Stonehenge was built, based on finds at nearby Durrington and elsewhere … a little guesswork is involved, too, but it’s based on the best evidence there is.

I was extremely surprised at the level of interest shown, especially by our younger visitors. There are a lot of replica artefacts in the houses, which we’re able to show, and let the visitors touch. I’ve also had several African visitors tell me ‘I grew up in such a house!’ So, I think we’ve got something right.

Anyway, here, in no particular order, are the pictures …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

