Posted by: travelrat | March 4, 2014

Passport Photos

There’s an old saying that, if you look anything like your passport photo, you need the holiday. The reason I’m looking so grim on mine is that it was taken on a dismal, freezing winter day, and I was suffering from a streaming cold.

This subject came up because, the other day, our trip to China came a little closer when we sent our passports off for our Chinese visas. They tell us that it could take a couple of weeks before we get them back … so now, I’m awaiting a tempting invitation to a short-notice blog trip that I won’t be able to go on.

The visa application required another photograph … all the criteria of a passport photo, but taken in the last six months. The passport photo wouldn’t do; it was taken too long ago, and anyway, I used them up when I renewed my driving licence.

So, another photo. An improvement, I thought … I do look passing human on it! The weather was a bit milder and I didn’t have the cold … but I think it’s possible that another factor may have been the passport pic was taken on a machine; the visa photo by a photographer.

(You may like to read my latest article at http://www.tripatini.com/profiles/blogs/leros )

Me 2010

Me 2014

Leave a Reply

Categories

