Posted by: travelrat | February 27, 2014

Madrid Morning

Churros

Madrid: 23rd November 2013

An article caught my eye the other day, saying how the food chain, McDonalds sought to promote their wares to the Spanish people for breakfast. But, try as I might, I couldn’t imagine my Spanish friends calling in at the Golden Arches for their McChocolate con McChurros!

Anyway, once more, I was in Madrid to start a Vaughantown programme, again staying the night at Eurobuilding 2. This programme was being held at Rascafria, which is only a couple of hours drive out of Madrid. So, we were able to make a later start, which left me plenty of time to head for the churreria I found last time, in the Plaza de Castilla.

Leaning Towers 2

The Plaza is an excellent viewpoint for the famous ‘Leaning Towers of Madrid’, and the light was much better than on my last visit … naturally, I had my camera with me. But, I couldn’t take a photograph of the churreria right away, for a couple of Guardia Civile were having breakfast at the counter … urban myth says you don’t photograph those guys, and I wasn’t taking any chances.

So, suitably refreshed, I went back to the hotel, to join the others and get on the bus.

Although the drive was short, we stopped at a roadhouse near Lozoya, for, I assume, the driver’s statutory break. I got a cup of coffee and wandered around, to take in the view of a railway viaduct, and snow-capped mountains beyond. I think I’m going to like this place!

Coffee Stop

Leave a Reply

Categories

