Posted by: travelrat | February 19, 2014

Heathrow Again

Terminal 5

November 2013.

I’ve had my car for nearly seven years now, which I think is the longest I’ve ever kept a car for. And sometimes, driving towards London on the M3, I have the thought that, if I had a sleep at the wheel, it would find its own way to Heathrow Airport. Not that I’m planning to try the experiment, of course!

Anyway, the object of this trip was to drop Lorraine off to catch her flight to Adelaide. We were going to stay overnight at the Holiday Inn Express, which, like the Travelodge, is quite adequate for a place to lay your head. However, they do throw in a breakfast, although there wasn’t any bacon, and the sausages weren’t the best.

But, the point I thought important enough to jot down in my notebook was that the toilet seat wouldn’t stay up! Obviously designed by a woman ???

A few days later, I was back at Heathrow, to get my flight to Madrid. But, this time, I’d ridden up on the National Express coach … which, if you’re flying from Terminal 5, really does ‘go right to the airport door’.

So, having got past check-in and security fairly quickly, I settled down with my tablet … and found 45 minutes free wifi for everyone. So, the time to boarding passed fairly painlessly.

Leave a Reply

Categories

