Posted by: travelrat | July 10, 2013

We’re Back!

After an absence of a few days, we’re back!

First, the hospital. I don’t want to dwell too much about that, for I get intensely bored by other people cataloguing their ailments, so all I will say is it all went well, and they let me out the same day.

John Kellett 7th July, 1913; still going strong.

John Kellett 7th July, 1913; still going strong.

Then, it was up to Cumbria in easy stages, to help my Dad celebrate his 100th birthday. Two parties; one, a lunch at the excellent Hare and Hounds at Bowland Bridge. A venue I heartily recommend; I had the mushroom soup … I’ve had thinner porridge, the steak and ale pie, which, try as I might, I couldn’t do full justice to. And, the sticky toffee pudding; you just can’t visit this part of the world without trying some.

Sticky Toffee Pudding; a local specialty

Sticky Toffee Pudding; a local specialty

The following day was yet another lunch … this time, at the complex where he lives. Just sandwiches and savouries and things, but done to perfection; I hope I didn’t make too much of a pig of myself over the pork pies.

When I said ‘we’, I didn’t just mean myself and Lorraine for, while we were away, our old friend Arnold the Ancestor resumed his position by the Holiday Inn. As I said earlier, he’s been AWOL for the best part of the year, but, after an appearance at Glastonbury, where he reportedly stole the show, he’s resumed his usual position.

The Ancestor Returns (for now)

The Ancestor Returns (for now)

Not for long, though. I believe he’s shortly to go ‘on tour’ again, hopefully returning to the Holiday Inn when he’s finished.

One thing I did notice. He appears to have developed a couple of holes around his mid-section. Just like me, in fact!

Responses

  1. Thank you Keith, the access panels haven’t been fitted yet, sher exhaustion is to blame! They will be going on shortly but is a good opportunity to view the internal structure before it gets hidden.

    • I guessed as much …. but seeing the holes in his tummy almost exactly where the scars from my operation are, I really felt an affinity for the poor guy! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

