Posted by: travelrat | July 3, 2013

Eating Skippy

GT3-Grey Kangaroo

Tanunda: 28th April 2012.
‘Australia’ somebody once said ‘is probably the only country where they eat the coat of arms’

The supporters on the coat of arms are, of course, the kangaroo and the emu. I’ve never eaten emu, but I’ve had ostrich on a couple of occasions, which I should imagine tastes something similar. We had a chance to try it at The Overlanders in Alice Springs, where they offered a platter of kangaroo, emu and crocodile. I was tempted … but they had too good an offer on T-bone steaks, so we had them instead.

I got my chance when we drove into Tanunda for lunch at the Valley Hotel. On offer was Fillet of Kangaroo, which I had to try. And yes, ‘Skippy Steaks’ are quite palatable; a bit like venison, but not as strong. But, maybe the sauce had a lot to do with the taste? I think I’ll reserve judgement until I’ve tried one just plonked on to the grill as is.

Now, some people have an objection to ‘eating Skippy’. I think I’m right in thinking it would contravene Jewish dietary law, because kangaroos don’t have a cloven hoof? And one young lady I know says it’s wrong, because all kangaroos are wild, and can’t be farmed.

It’s a view I respect … although don’t necessarily go along with. A lot of farmers say kangaroos must be culled anyway, to keep their numbers down. I’m tempted to ask her if she likes fish and chips; I suspect that, like me, she’s satisfied to know that the fish are ‘sustainably caught’.

Leave a Reply

Categories

