Posted by: travelrat | June 26, 2013

The Road to Jacob’s Creek

DSC_0191

 

Barossa Valley: 28th April 2012.


The trouble with scenic routes is they’re not much fun for the driver, especially if you’re too busy concentrating on a steep, narrow, twisty road. There’s certainly little time to see what’s around you. Especially as the car Hertz’s reserved for me had automatic transmission, which takes some getting used to. Call me old-fashioned, but I prefer a ‘pudding stirrer’; I’ve seldom driven an automatic, and never owned one.
There’s a direct route along a main highway from Adelaide to the Barossa Valley wine-growing region, but there’s also at least two scenic ones through the hills. We went out by one, and returned by the other; at least, the passengers enjoyed the ride.
Our first call was at the cellar door of a household name. Jacob’s Creek. I know what Jacob’s Creek tastes like, I grumbled. And, you can buy it in the supermarket at home. Not this one, I was told. Try a taste!
I didn’t; I was driving. But, at least, the vineyard made for some good photography and, if we could have been bothered to walk a short distance, we could have photographed Jacob’s Creek, after which the wine was named, itself. With hindsight, we should have. Just think about being able to take a bottle from the shelf at the local Tesco, and think ‘I’ve been there! And, I have pictures!’
But, we only wandered around the visitor centre, finding out about Jacob, after whom the creek was named.

Barossa 1

Leave a Reply

Categories

