Posted by: travelrat | June 12, 2013

Buses, Breakaways and Bustards (video)

Breakaway 4

Adelaide: 12th April 2012.

I’m not sure whether it was the comfort of the bus seat, or the fact it had been a long day, but I slept most of the way down to Adelaide, and that’s something I can rarely do on a bus.

The highlight of the visit had to be the sighting of the bustards … sorry to go on about them, but they are a rarity in Australia; most of the Aussies I’ve spoken to since say they’ve never seen one.

There are bustards in other parts of the world; I’ve seen Kori Bustards in Africa … but, although it’s only a ten-minute drive away, I’ve never visited the centre where they’re re-introducing the Great Bustard to Salisbury Plain yet. But, it’s on the list!

Meanwhile, back in Australia, you can see the bustards on the accompanying video.

 

Responses

  1. The music is a bit too dramatic to my taste, but I still loved the footage!

    • Thank you; noted!


Leave a Reply

Categories

