Posted by: travelrat | March 15, 2013

To Noroway Over the Foam

I don't have many digital pictures of Norway at the moment. This is a scan of a slide I took back in 1988!

I don’t have many digital pictures of Norway at the moment. This is a scan of a slide I took back in 1988!

In a few moments, I shall be closing the blog for a couple of weeks, while we’re on a cruise to the Norwegian fjords. There is an internet connection on the ship, but it’s rather expensive. Hotels are slowly getting the message that free wifi is a major selling point, so I wonder if cruise lines will ever follow suit?

I will, however, be tweeting from my mobile phone (@NomadKeith) for as long as my credit holds out.

For the last couple of weeks, it’s been touch and go as to whether the cruise would actually happen. The Discovery was delayed on its transit from the dry dock at Genoa, and diverted to Portland. This meant that the crew had little time to prepare the ship to a satisfactory standard, and she failed a safety check by the Coastguard. So, the cruise before ours had to be cancelled.

We had rather anxious fortnight, checking CMV’s Facebook page, trying to sort out the truth from the rumours and ‘Chinese Whispers’ … and, last I heard, the ship had passed her checks, and was ‘in all respects ready for sea’, and had arrived in  Avonmouth, where we’ll join her shortly.

See you in a fortnight!

Leave a Reply

Categories

