Posted by: travelrat | October 12, 2012

Bruges Canal Cruise: Video

 
Bruges: 25th June 2012.
 
Bruges is another city in Northern Europe often described as ‘The Venice of the North’ … aside from being horribly clichéd, I can think of at least half a dozen other cities that claim that title, and I’m sure there are many more. In fact, I think, next time I visit Venice, I shall describe it as ‘The Wigan of the South’.
 
This will be my last ‘regular’ post for a week or so: on Saturday, I’m off to Spain, for another Vaughantown week. I will post where and when I can while I’m away … depending on whether the mifi works in Spain, and/or if I can find a wifi connection.
 
(They did say, you might remember, there was wifi at Villacarriedo last year … but it ‘fell over’ on the Tuesday night, and we were without it for the rest of the week)
 
Responses

  1. Great video. The architecture reminds me a lot of Amsterdam.

    The first bridge they went under made me a little nervous because it seemed so low! It made me want to duck my head. Have a good trip.

    • Indeed, we did just that! The boatman advised us to duck as we passed under the bridges; I was kneeling in the bottom of the boat as I filmed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

