Posted by: travelrat | August 22, 2012

Scrapbooking?

There used to be a card shop in Amesbury. There, you could find a card for almost every occasion. I say ‘almost’ because, if you wished to congratulate the fiancée of your sister’s partner’s son by his first marriage on passing her driving test, I don’t think you’d find such a card there … although you’d probably find a card for anything else.

Sadly, it is no more … but it has been replaced by a shop which sells the materials to make your own personalised cards. Yes, I know you could knock such a card up in a couple of minutes on your computer, but there is a world of difference between these, and something that’s been hand crafted.

Another thing the new shop sells is supplies for scrapbooking … and I’ve got to admit, when I first heard this word a couple of years ago, my first reaction was derision. I’d seen an advert advertising a scrapbooking course and immediately thought … a six-week course, for which they’re charging sixty quid, to teach people to stick things in books? Surely, they’re having a laugh?

But, after talking to a few people, I discovered there’s more to it than that. Sure, they’re still sticking things in books, but in a themed, organised sort of way. Although I started to take a more kindly view of the hobby, I decided it wasn’t for me. But, then someone said:

‘What about your travel journals? You stick tickets, brochures, postcards and such in there. Isn’t that scapbooking?’

I don’t really know … what do you think?

 

 

Responses

  1. Yup – that’s scrapbooking! Hand written notes, tickets, luggage tags etc to remind yourself where you went, what you thought, so that you can share it with others later is classic scrapbooking! It looks very interesting & I’m sure loads of people love flicking through them to find interesting tit-bits about your travels!

  2. Definitely scrap booking. I have some that I have kept since I was a teenager. Then I kept one for every year. And I used to decorate my school notebooks too. I managed to find lots of acceptable pictures in old catalogues and used discontinued wall paper sample books for my “scrap booking” paper. I am sure some enterprising little girl from the 50’s decided to sell the same stuff dressed up a bit in scrapbooking stores

  3. Thanks, ladies!

    It’s probably stretching a point, but I sort of regard this blog as a sort of scrapbook, too … except most of the content is generated by myself, whereas with a ‘real’ scrapbook, the source of your pictures, etc. doesn’t really matter.


Leave a Reply

Categories

