Posted by: travelrat | August 10, 2012

Grange over Sands (Video)

Saying ‘goodbye’ to Ireland wasn’t the end of this particular road trip. Before heading home, we went up to Cumbria, to attend a wedding in Windermere, then across to Leeds to see our daughter.

So, just to fill the gap until the Friday Dish leaps forward seven months, and cover our trip to Maastricht, here’s a video I’ve been working on for quite a while, and have been meaning to put up when the opportunity arose.

Here it is: Grange over Sands, where my Dad lives, and where we stay when we’re visiting.

Responses

  1. Am I wrong or did Clannad do a song about Grange? I seem to remember one from years ago. What a gorgeous place. I’d love to visit it someday. The pond is lovely and of course, I love the ducks. The bit where they are all diving is so cute. FAB video!

    • Well, there’s lots of places called Grange … hence the ‘over Sands’ suffix. Maybe there’s some in Ireland, too? However, I’m not to familiar with the work of Clannad (apart for ‘Harry’s Game’) … but, strangely, I have a whole pile of stuff by Enya, who I believe is the (sister? cousin?) of one of the group.

      Agree about the ducks; Grange is famous for them … several exotic species here.

  2. Thanks for pointing me to this article. By the way where was the photo of the Russian-Orthodox-like church taken one can see at the header of your interesting blog?

    • It’s not a church; it’s the Peterhof; the Summer Palace of Peter the Great, near St. Petersburg.

      • I see. Thanks for the info, Keith!


Leave a Reply

Categories

