Posted by: travelrat | June 6, 2012

Adelaide Railway Museum: Video

Port Adelaide; 27th March 2012.

Shortly before I left for Australia, I had an email from a rail enthusiast friend, asking if I’d ever seen a dual-gauge railway track. I said that I thought the narrow-gauge Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway shared the trackbed with standard gauge for a short distance, but whether or not any of it still existed, I didn’t know.

However, as I explained last week, it’s quite common in South Australia, especially in the northern suburbs of Adelaide, where trains of both broad-gauge and standard gauge operate.

At the National Railway Museum, there’s even triple-gauge track, to enable trains built to all three gauges to be moved around the complex.

But, enough of the railway nerdery for now … just some sort video of the rail museum, then I’ll leave it for a while. Until we eventually get on the Ghan!

Responses

  1. Hi,
    Very nice video, and I bet your friend was amazed these tracks were at the museum, he would love this video. It looks like they had a few different things there, I hope you enjoyed it as I know you do like the train museums. 🙂

  2. YAY for the triple gauge track. That will make a difference. I like the sign The Alice to Wonderland. That is really cool. Great vid!


Leave a Reply

Categories

