Posted by: travelrat | June 1, 2012

I Made This!

Nil Otis Tarda Carborundum = ‘Don’t Let the Bustards Grind You Down’!

In Amesbury, the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee is going to be marked in a rather unique way. ‘The Ancestor’ (aka ‘Arnold’ or ‘The Big Fella’) is to receive a Jubilee Crown. But, it’s not going to be the work of one person. Several artists will be contributing their stuff … including various citizens of Amesbury, who have been working on patterned lozenges, which will be built into the crown … the whole thing being put together by Andy and Michelle, of AR Metalcraft (www.armetalcraft.co.uk)

And, one of those ‘various citizens’ is me! I stopped by the Forge Gallery to suggest to Michelle that the crown might incorporate a well-known symbol of Salisbury Plain, the Great Bustard. I even had a drawing I’d downloaded from the Web … and almost before I realised it, I was tapping away at a sheet of copper to produce …

 

OK, it looks more like an overweight duck with back problems, but hey, it’s my first-ever attempt at metalwork!

We’ll see the finished Crown in all its glory at the Amesbury Carnival on Saturday, and the actual Placing of the Crown will be on Sunday. I’ll post some pictures as soon as possible.

 

Responses

  1. Wow! Awesome 😀

  2. Thaty looks really good. It is not easy to do metalwork. Do you see many great bustards in Salisbury these days? I read somewhere there was a project to reintroduce them.

    • They are indeed; you can read about it at http://www.greatbustard.org . I haven’t seen any yet, but I’ve seen close relatives in Kenya … and at Coober Pedy last April!

  3. Hi Keith,
    I think you did a great job for your first attempt, well done. 😀
    I will be watching some of the Jubilee on TV, I’m sure this will be an event to remember.


Leave a Reply

Categories

