Posted by: travelrat | April 3, 2012

Pie Floater (ver. 2.0)

I’ve written much about the classic South Australian dish, the Pie Floater. You take a standard meat pie, place it in a bowl, pour pea soup over it and add sauce or a side of chips to preference. The Pie Floater was allegedly pioneered in Port Pirie, by café proprietor Ern ‘Shorty’ Bradley. But, I wonder if he’d recognise it as served at the Albion, in Kilburn?

The meat pie is replaced by a hand-made, freshly baked beef, bacon and Guinness pie, with a flaky puff pastry. Instead of the pea soup there’s a rich, meaty gravy, and you can add your choice of vegetables from the veg counter.

I think the only thing missing was something you need to look really hard for in Adelaide … HP Sauce! 

(More info on the Albion chain at www.albionhotel.net.au )

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    Wow, that looks nice, would be great with some nice hot fresh chips. 🙂
    Not a lot of Restaurants or eateries carry HP, but of course it is available in all supermarkets.

    • You could, of course, have chips with it, but you probably wouldn’t have room for them. Although there weren’t any on the veg counter, I’m sure they’d have brought some if I’d asked. Two of our party had fish n’ chips, and each said they had far too many chips.

      Yes, I knew about HP Sauce, but it feels rather sad, hauling my own bottle about. I remember a deli proprietor, hearing my accent, hauling a bottle out and saying ‘There you go, Yorkie!’

      I didn’t have the heart to tell him a) I’m not from Yorkshire and b) If I was, my tracklement of choice would probably be Yorkshire Relish or Hammond’s Chop Sauuce. 🙂

  2. That looks fantastic. I would be in heaven eating that. NOM NOM….

  3. Sounds interesting, but I’m not sure I’d like a soggy pie—cos the sauce must make it soggy right?

    • In this case, no … it had a puff-pastry ‘lid’, but took quite an effort to cut into the base before it had softened a bit.

  4. Now THAT looks like a pie floater I’d like to eat! Are those peas in the gravy?

    • They are indeed … and you can get more from the veg counter if you want them


Leave a Reply

Categories

