Posted by: travelrat | March 31, 2012

Aussie Tucker

Our first week in Adelaide has been spent revisiting places we know, rather than exploring somewhere new. And, of course, sampling the food. Indeed, on our first full day, the question ‘what do you want for lunch?’ really didn’t require an answer. ‘A pie, of course’

It may be my imagination, but are the places you can buy a hot pie getting fewer and further between? We know Vili’s and Balfour’s pies, but, at Glenelg, I found a new one. Wedged among the boutiques and souvenir shops of Jetty Road, I found Brumby’s Bakery. They bake their own pies … and very nice they are, too!

We’ve had more substantial meals out, too. At the Albion, in Kilburn, I had a succulent lamb shank; the meat just fell off the bone, rendering a knife almost superfluous. And, at Hahndorf, in the German Arms, I had a Jaegerschitzel to walk ten miles for. And, in each case, I’d half-eaten each dish before I thought to photograph it.

But, I did photograph the bottle of beer I bought at the German Arms, and I hope the name isn’t a reflection of the quality of the content. My other photo is a pic of South Australia’s other favourite … no, not the Pie Floater but … 

 

Responses

  1. Those chocolate cookies look very tempting. Mmmm!

  2. Hi,
    The food sounds delicious, and if the meat is falling off the bone, you know it was good. 😀
    I haven’t been to Adelaide for a long time, we are talking years here, but I know you will thoroughly enjoy yourselves while there.

    My favourite biscuits is of course Tim Tams although you show the dark chocolate ones in your photo, I love the original, I don’t buy them very much because I get home unpack the groceries, put the Tim Tams in the fridge, and for some unknown reason they all seem to disappear before they get a chance to even get cold. 😆

  3. I have been requested … nay, ORDERED … by at least four people to bring back TimTams. It’s going to take supreme will-power to get them to their destinations safely! 😀

  4. It’s funny about the Tim Tams. My cousins always gorge themselves on them when they come over here. I have been known to meet them at the airport holding a pack of Tim Tams.

    You probably don’t watch The Simpsons but Duff is the beer Homer Simpson drinks. I didn’t realise it was a real beer. ‘You can’t get enough of that wonderful Duff…’


Leave a Reply

Categories

