Posted by: travelrat | March 12, 2012

Daffodils

I think I’ve written before comparing the wild daffodil with the cultivated garden variety … like comparing a pretty teenager with a brittle supermodel, I believe I said. Sadly, most of the ones we see these days are of the cultivated variety; either planted by a municipal authority or ‘garden escapes’, usually caused by careless disposal of garden waste,

But, if you know where to look, the wild ones can still be found.

When we visited Yorkshire this weekend, I was hoping we could find time to visit Farndale. It’s a major attraction at this time of year, because of the prolific crops of wild daffodils all over the valley floor.

Unfortunately, it was not to be. I have been before, but I wanted some digital pictures I could share. I do have some slides, but my ancient slide scanner only works with Windows 95, which I still have on an equally ancient laptop that usually lives in the garage.

Although we were unable to visit Farndale this time, we called to see Dad at Grange over Sands on the way home. And,in the woods behind his retirement complex was … no, I won’t say ‘a host of golden daffodils’. I did promise myself I WOULDN’T revert to cliche and quote Wordsworth!

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    Daffodils are so pretty, I love the yellow it stands out against any background, and would look beautiful growing wild in an open area. You can see in you photos how much they stand out, gorgeous.

  2. Not seeing daffodils is something I don’t like about Barcelona! Too much sun for them!

    • I’d like to have frangipani or bougainvillea in my garden, but I don’t think they’d survive the winter. I don’t think I’ll trade places, though.

  3. You know you want to use that quote……. it’s the one that stands out when it comes to daffodils, that’s for sure. They really are a splendid sight!

    • Don’t forget, I went to school a bus-ride away from where Wordy Wordsmith lived … and I’d had him, his daffodils and his ‘… dank verses stuff’d with Lakeland sedges …’ un to here before I was out of short pants!


Leave a Reply

Categories

