Posted by: travelrat | February 27, 2012

Maastricht Again!

I just finished a couple of articles on Maastricht, which I sent off this morning. An interesting fact came up in my research for these. Somewhere in the town … we didn’t see it on our visit two years ago … is a statue of the legendary Musketeer, D’Artagnan. It was during the Siege of Maastricht, in 1672 that he was killed.

Now, I thought, up to now, that he belonged strictly in fiction. That’s true, up to a point, for Alexandre Dumas did fictionalise and romanticise his life extensively inThe Three Musketeersand its sequels. But, he did base his character on a real person, one Charles de Batz, who joined the King’s Musketeers, for some reason, using his mother’s maiden name, D’Artagnan. He went on to command that body, and be ennobled as the Comte D’Artagnan.

This Summer, I shall be able to seek out and photograph that statue, for we’re going to Maastricht again. There’s a coach tour going to see the André Rieu homecoming concert … we’re already booked for his concert at Birmingham in December, but we really can’t get enough of this guy, and the offer was too good to miss.

However, we may not be staying in Maastricht, although we’ll spend a good day there before the concert. All the coach company can tell us at this stage is we’ll be staying at a hotel ‘within 90 minutes drive of Maastricht’. Which covers a lot of places! Aachen? Monschau? Valkenberg? Liège? We’ve been to all these places, but so long ago that we only have vague memories and a few faded Instamatic photos. So, anywhere is good for us, and we look forward to refreshing them.

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    Very interesting about the Three Musketeers. I hope you do have time to get a photo of the statue.
    How lucky you are to be seeing André Rieu again, I know you will definitely enjoy the concert. 🙂

    • This will be the third time we’ve seen him live … fourth, if you count the ‘cine-cast’ we went to last year. And, his CDs and DVDs take up a considerable space in our CD rack!

  2. I have always liked The Three Musketeers and D’Artagnan. Interesting to find out that Monsieur D’A was based on a real person!

    • Yes; the assassination of the Duke of Buckingham actually happened … there’s a blue plaque on the house in Portsmouth where it took place. And, of course the siege of La Rochelle is based on fact, too.

  3. I had no idea D’Artagnan was a real person. That is fascinating. It just makes the whole story much more interesting. I can’t wait to see that statue!

    • I must read ‘The Three Musketeers’ again before I go … I wonder if it’s on Kindle’s ‘free classics’ list? Interesting thing was, I don’t think Dumas ever mentioned D’Artagnan’s given name … for some reason, I thought it was Armand? I must check out the sequels, too … I’m not sure if I’ve read ‘Twnty Years After’, and I’m sure I haven’t read ‘The Viscount of Braggelonne’.


Leave a Reply

Categories

