Posted by: travelrat | February 13, 2012

A Walk in the Park

With hindsight, maybe I should have taken my Nikon along when I attended the Germany Travel Show last week, but I didn’t want to lug it all around the exhibition. I did, however, have the little Panasonic with me, just in case I encountered a tornado, or alien invasion or something.

The exhibition was held at No. 1 Marylebone, a grand Palladian building which looked like it may once have been a church. Since I don’t know London very well, I arrived almost indecently early, and to kill time until the show opened, I took a walk around Regent’s Park, which is only a few hundred yards away.

This is where I wished I’d brought the Nikon; there’s something about a park in winter. Impressionistic? Lowrey-esque? Bare trees, stick figures, a few scraps of snow clinging on … I did take a few pix with the Panasonic, but I’m only posting the best.

The only thing that spoilt it was the luridly-clad, grim-faced joggers pounding around the Park.

This is where I feel the message has been lost. I jog myself ; I usually get a ‘Good morning!’ from those I meet, unless I get my greeting in first … and I remember Jim Fixx’s original article. It’s best, he said, if you take someone with you with whom to talk. And, if you don’t have the breath to talk, you’re going too fast. Above all, you must enjoy yourself. These folks looked like they were doing anything but.

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    It does look like a lovely park, and I love that fountain, it’s beautiful, the little bits of snow scattered over the grounds really do stand out, it makes the picture I feel, very nice. 🙂

    • Did you check out the icicles on the mermaid’s tail? There’s video of that fountain on my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?v=153326224785127

      • I was amazed I got access to the video even though I don’t have an account. 😀
        What an awesome video, and now that you have pointed it out, those icicles on the tail are unreal, I didn’t see that first up. It’s amazing the water is actually flowing. 🙂

  2. I’m cold just looking at that video. The icicles on the tail are incredible. It must have been freezing that day.

    I know what you mean about the joggers – some of the ones around here look like they’re about to keel over. It seems such a stressful way for some people to exercise. I think they push themselves too hard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

