Posted by: travelrat | February 8, 2012

Podcast: Episode 1 and Himeji Gardens Slide Show

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is a slide show from the Himeji Japanese Gardens, in Adelaide, which I visited in 2006. It was laid out by Japanese gardeners to commemorate Adelaide’s links with Himeji; they’re ‘sister cities’. The upright pillar you see is a milestone, indicating the distance to Himeji.

In Japanese gardening, there’s a meaning to everything that’s planted or used … but, all I’ll say is that everything represents the world in microcosm. I’ll let you, as the gardeners intended, work out the meaning for yourself.

Or, as most people do when they visit the gardens, just enjoy the peace and tranquillity.

Finally, after a few struggles with ‘Audacity’ and Podbean, I’ve managed to produce my first podcast for a while. Or, I think I have … here’s the link; if you have any feedback, or issues with it, please leave a comment.

Episode 1: The Road to Rainbow Beach

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    Absolutely beautiful gardens, it looks to be set out really well, I should imagine this would be very nice to walk around. I love the idea of the pillar, it’s all very nice, I love the photos in the slide show, well done. 🙂

  2. Hi,

    Really these are awesome images for graden. I like your idea of image frame, they look good moving after some time just like slide show. This is the great website design work. My website for also have same slide show but I do not like that.

    • I cannot take any real credit for the slide show; that’s down to the WordPress people. All I have to do is upload a gallery of pictures, and click ‘Upload Slide Show’

      But, I am going to Adelaide again next month; if I can, I will revisit these gardens, and take some video.

  3. I had no idea that Himeji and Adelaide were sister cities! That garden is quite possibly the most accomplished Japanese garden I’ve seen outside of Japan.

  4. Thank you, everyone!

    The garden was laid out by Japanese gardeners. I didn’t dwell too much on the meaning of the layout, as I don’t know too much about Japanese gardening, and would only be plagiarising the excellent explanatory leaflet.

    There are other Japanese gardens outside Japan; in fact, there’s one at Heale House, near where I live, but that was laid out by a former British Consul to Japan, and is only his idea of what a Japanese garden should look like.

  5. The slideshow is FAB and I really enjoyed the podcast. You have a very engaging style. I liked the bit about the pineapples and the pineapple marmalade. I haven’t ever tasted it but I’m sure it’s pretty delicious. Looking forward to more of your podcasts!

    • I’m working on Episode 2 right now. I’ve written the script and chosen the music; I just have to wait till the house is fairly quiet before recording it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

