Posted by: travelrat | September 28, 2011

Back from Ireland

I feel a bit like Phileas Fogg tonight. I haven’t been around the world, and I haven’t been away for eighty days. But, if you remember the book, you’ll recall that he thought he hadn’t made it, until he realised he’d forgotten to take the International Date Line into account.

Like Phileas, I somehow got a day out in my calculations; I could have sworn we were coming back yesterday. So, did I miscalculate, or did Lorraine decide we’d stay an extra day in Leeds?

Anyway, here’s the plot. Posts about the Irish road trip will start a week on Friday; I still have one last post about Spain to put up the day after tomorrow. I will continue with Kent on Monday and Queensland on Wednesday, with any odds and sods (Qype reviews, etc.) on Sunday. And, of course, the Pic of the Week on Saturday, which will surely have some Irish content.

Meanwhile, here’s a picture ….

Responses

  1. Oh, Limerick…I’m looking forward to reading your impressions about it. I fell in love with that city ever since I spent a few months there as a exchange student.

  2. Unfortunately, we didn’t get to Limerick … we were staying in the Cork area. We did consider it; I wanted to see the origin of those ‘The dirty old Bishop of Birmingham … ‘ rhymes! 😀

  3. I’m not surprised you lost track of time a little; you do such a great deal of travelling. Looking forward to your tales!

    • I think the only other time I got ‘temporally displaced’ was in Spain las year; my Netbook was still on Brisbane time & I thought, at one stage, it was tomorrow already!

  4. Hi Keith,
    An extra day, sounds like a good thing. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

