Posted by: travelrat | September 4, 2011

Qype: English Heritage: Leeds Castle in Maidstone

MaidstoneArts & EntertainmentLandmarks

I think the most important thing to say about Leeds Castle is that it’s in Kent … and nowhere near the better-known Leeds, in Yorkshire!

Another point is that it isn’t a ruin; it’s livable-in, if not actually lived in. So, it’s more like a Stately Home than a castle. There’s very little to see here in the way of weaponry and armour … I don’t think it was ever attacked or laid siege to.

For me, the best point is the extensive gardens … which, if you don’t want to walk all that way, you can view from a ‘land train’.

And, if you live in England, read the fine print on your ticket, and don’t throw it away. It’s good for re-entry for a year and a day after its initial purchase!

Check out my review of English Heritage: Leeds Castle – I am nomadkeith – on Qype

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    Sounds like the grounds are huge, and I noticed a lot of water around the castle as well.

    • It’s on an island in a lake: I’ll put a slide show and a video up when its turn comes around in the Trip Diary … probably early October, as I’ll be away to Ireland in just over a week.

  2. Leeds Castle is a beautiful castle .. I visited in this spring and take 1000 pictures 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

