Posted by: travelrat | August 14, 2011

Thinking About Austria

(Photo from Airbnb)

I really must visit Austria again!

Last time I went I vowed to return, and see more, but, for one reason or another, I never got around to it. I always regarded it as the ideal holiday location, for when I returned home, I was hard put to write about it without using the cliché ‘something for everyone.’

The purpose of that visit was to see, and ride on some of the delightful little railways that thread their way through the mountains. There was’ however, plenty to see and do for non-railway-enthusiast partners; we saw castles and waterfalls; visited lakeside resorts and walked in the mountains. There are plenty of easy walks in most places, and cable cars to lift you up to higher levels, if you wish.

So, when I heard about the Airbnb travel blogging competition, with a short stay at a luxury chalet in the Styria region as a prize, I was immediately interested. I don’t know the area, but I’d imagine it’s similar to places I’ve already visited.

The prize includes a ‘wellness day’ at the private spa within the accommodation. I’m not really into that sort of thing … but, can I be excused for saying once more that Austria has something for everyone? I shouldn’t be too hard put to find something to do, even if it’s just a quiet countryside walk if I decide to forgo this. However, my wife would be well up for it, and I think I’d be in trouble if I didn’t take her. Anyway, being recently retired from being a busy hotel manager and running a home at the same time, she probably needs it.

To make up the foursome, our daughter and her partner are the obvious choice. She’s a hard-working nurse and mother of three teenagers, and, since she’s recently seen the eldest started at University, I don’t think anyone deserves such a break more.

Her partner, being Scottish, is, of course, passionately into lakes and mountains.

The prize must be taken in November and December, at, for me, that’s another plus. I’ve never been to Austria in the winter before but, even if there’s snow on the ground, it shouldn’t constrain any outdoor activity too much. And, it’s going to make the local food specialties such as goulash soup, Tiroler Gröstl (a hash of potatoes and pork, sautéed together with chives, herbs and onions)and Speckknodelsuppe (clear soup with a bacon dumpling!) even more tempting.

(This post has been entered into the TBU/Airbnb blogging competition. http://www.airbnb.com/rooms/178099 )

You can read more of my ‘Austria stuff’ at https://travelrat.wordpress.com/austria and http://www.giftedtravel.com/walking-in-the-tyrol

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    I would love to do the trains through such beautiful scenery. I of course have only seen photo’s, but they have all looked beautiful, a place I would love to have a look at.

  2. The goulash soup sounds fabulous. I would love to visit Austria. The scenery looks glorious!

  3. Ciao 🙂 Since we both participate to this competition, I wanted to say you “good luck” 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

