Posted by: travelrat | July 22, 2011

Cruise Round-up; Dubai video

Dubai: 12th February 2011

So, we come to the end of the Gulf Cruise … and, instead of crossing things off the ‘bucket list’, I’ve added a couple of items to it.

If I ever go back to Oman, I MUST visit Muscat. A lot of history is there, dating from the time Omanis controlled most of the east coast of Africa, and the Sultan will permit no building which is intrusive or out of keeping.

And, Dubai could do with further exploration too, for it seems that there is something behind the gloss, glitz and ostentatious displays of wealth. Here, I feel, guide books and articles are largely to blame, as they give the impression there’s nothing to do here but shopping and admiring the sometimes over-the-top architecture.

Anyway, rant over … have a look at my video. And, from here, the Trip Diary moves to Spain again.

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    A great look at some of Dubai, and you done an excellent job with the video as usual very nice.
    I couldn’t get over how quiet the market looked, didn’t seem to be too many people walking around. But Oh my that gold jewelry, I can only but dream. 🙂

    • I think that possibly most shopping is done in the large, air-conditioned malls. I know the ‘new gold suq’ is in one of them, and I’m glad to see the old one has been preserved, and still seems to be trading quite briskly, if not exactly frantically.

      What I couldn’t get over was so much gold on display, and not a security guard in sight!

  2. I want to visit there now. I am with Mags – the jewellery is really nice. Another great vid from you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

