Posted by: travelrat | May 6, 2011

Fujairah; the Market and the Fort.

Fujairah: 9th February 2011

On the way to our next stop, the guide explained about the male dress of the area. If they didn’t wear Western clothes, the usual garb was a loose, buttoned robe called a dish-dash; usually snowy white. It’s also very cool, especially since what’s worn under it is usually the same as what a Scotsman is reputed to wear under his kilt.

I think at just about every port of call on this cruise, they took us to visit a suq, or market. Not that I’m objecting, for, as I’ve said many times before, markets, with their colour and bustle, are excellent photographic subjects. And, a smile, a camera and an inquiring look always produced the same result; a nod, a smile in return and a good picture.

Although the main business of the market was fish, or fruit and vegetables … all looking as if they had been landed within the hour, or just picked … there were also clothes shops. Here, we found out another fact about the dish-dash. It’s inexpensive … about a tenth of the cost of a decent suit at home.

Finally, we called at the Fujairah Fort. We only managed to admire and photograph it from outside, though. We couldn’t go in, because the Fujairah Museum was in the process of being moved there. But, it wasn’t such a great loss. We would be seeing more forts (and museums and markets) in the next few days.

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    I love the markets in the Middle East, I think it’s because everything is so different than what we see at home. The colours, the smells are all wonderful.

    I see these Old Forts and I just want to run in and start exploring, I love anything like that. What a shame you couldn’t go inside, but at least you had others to explore. A truly great trip.

    • When I realised how many pictures of various markets around the world I had, I thought I should do a book on them … unfortunately, someone beat me to it.

  2. The market is really colourful. You should get a dish-dash. You might start a trend back home. I just can’t can’t get over how much the forts look like enormous sandcastles. My son used to have a bucket like that when he was a kid. LOL.

    • I have one; wear it instead of a dressing gown. That, and a few Arabic curses are ideal for getting rid of the Jehovah’s Witnesses when they come calling! 😀

  3. How do you decide where to travel next? Your journeys take you all over and I’m curious how you’re able to come up with an agenda. Do you use guide books and research on the internet or are you more of an adventurer who walks until he sees something interesting?

    • We’re pretty static at the moment, as we have pretty drastic makeovers going on in the kitchen and the garden. But, we have tentative plans for Ireland in September and Adelaide next year. In between, whatever comes up; since we’re prepared to go almost anywhere at the drop of a hat, we can sometimes get some really sweet deals.

      Then, there’s Press trips. Usually, they tend to show us what they want us to see, but I can usually score some free time, and nose around on my own.

      And, how do we decide where to go? Usually starts with a magazine article or a television programme …


Leave a Reply

Categories

