Posted by: travelrat | April 6, 2011

Oman Video

Oman: 8th February 2011

As I think I’ve said before, there’s a good side and a bad side to visiting somewhere on a cruise. The good side is that, if you don’t like a place, you are, at least, out of there pretty rapidly. The bad side is that, if you do like somewhere, you wish you could stay longer.

Oman is one of the good places. I have, actually, visited before. But, that was on military duty; on one occasion, we were down in the south of the country, at Salalah; on others, we were just so damn’ busy that, after we’d finished work, we only had time for a couple of beers before hitting the sack.

So, I have still to see Muscat, which looks like it would be really worth a visit. And, here’s the video of what we did see.

 

 

I’m getting a little ahead of myself here, but I just posted an article about the Barrier Reef at http://www.offbeattravel.com/barrier-reef-australia.html. It’ll be a while before the Trip Diary finds its way up there so … as they say on the TV news before they screen a football match … if you don’t want to know the score, look away now!  

 

Responses

  1. Hi Keith,
    Very nice video, looks like you all had a very enjoyable day. I have never had the pleasure of seeing Oman but would love to go one day, the Middle East is such a fascinating place.
    I had a peak at your “Barrier Reef” article WOW, will not comment anymore until you post here. 🙂

  2. Fabulous video. I would love to visit one day too. The music was wonderful – a perfect fit!

    • I think Kevin MacLeod (www.incompetech.com) has music to suit every mood and place. I’ve downloaded a couple of his royalty-free pieces, which I shall use in the whole series of ‘Gulf Cruise’ videos … I just finished the Fujairah one, which I’ll put up in a couple of weeks or so.


Leave a Reply

Categories

