Posted by: travelrat | February 25, 2008

Jenolan Caves Slide Show

 

‘In Xanadu did Kubla Khan/A stately pleasure dome decree.

Where Alph, the sacred river ran/Through caverns measureless to Man

Down to a sunless sea’ (S.T.Coleridge)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

These days, you can’t just go around decreeing stately pleasure domes wherever the fancy takes you. Especially not in Australian National Parks. Anyway, as I hope my pictures show, the ‘caverns measureless to Man’ are far more spectacular than anything Mr. Khan could build … or even conceive of.

I have to admit to telling a slight ‘porky’ when I said I didn’t have any video of the main caves. I did take some footage (or, rather, inchage!) on my digital camera, which I’d forgotten about. If it’s any good, I’ll post it, but not right now, as I have a deadline looming on some ‘pay packet’ work. You’ve probably had it up to here with the Jenolan Caves by now, anyway.

Someone sent me an email with some ‘silly signs’ on it, knowing how fond I am of them. I won’t post them here, for copyright reasons, but, if you want a laugh, have a look at www.engrish.com. This weekend, I changed the photo in the ‘About Me’ page. The pic is a later one … and, since the Tusker Brewery haven’t seen fit to send me a case of their product for being pictured wearing a T-shirt promoting their wares, I changed it!

 

 

Responses

  1. […] post by travelrat This entry was posted on Wednesday, December 31st, 1969 at 7:00 pm and is filed under […]

  2. Love those stalactites and stalagmites. It’s another world in the caves!

  3. I love those photos!!! Looks like a fascinating holiday. I usually get freaked out with the stalagmites and stalactites… always afraid there will be an earthquake and I’ll be stabbed by one or the other and left for dead. Yes, I have some irrational fears. They make me quirky.

  4. One of the guides did say there’d been an earth tremor in NSW some years ago, and people in the caves never felt a thing.

    Y’see, that area is sedimentary limestone, and while there is a very slight danger of seismic activity (like on Kefalonia, in 1953, when the Drogarati Caves were slightly damaged,) the risk is infinitesimal.

  5. Wow! How do you do it?

    You just mentioned earth tremors … and guess what we had in England last night?

    (Only 5.-something on the Richter scale, and only a few slight injuries and superficial damage)

  6. Sorry about that… it seems I have cursed you and all of England. Either that or I’m psychic.


Leave a Reply

Categories

